Compare / head-to-head
Gemini 2.5 ProvsGPT-5 mini
GPT-5 mini leads 5 of 7 shared benchmarks. GPT-5 mini is 5x cheaper per token. Gemini 2.5 Pro has the larger context window (1.0M tokens).
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
2 – 5
GPT-5 mini leads
Cheaper per token
GPT-5 mini
5x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
Gemini 2.5 Pro
1.0M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
100% · 95.4802%
Google · OpenAI
Gemini 2.5 Pro
Google · released 2025-06-17
textvisionaudio
GPT-5 mini
OpenAI · released 2025-08-07
textvision
Quality
Benchmark matrix
7 shared · 5 only Gemini 2.5 Pro · 1 only GPT-5 mini| Benchmark | Gemini 2.5 Pro | GPT-5 mini | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 7 | ||||
| SWE-bench Verified | 59.6% ↗ | 71% ↗ | -11.4 pt | GPT-5 mini |
| GPQA Diamond | 86.4% ↗ | 81.6% ↗ | +4.8 pt | Gemini 2.5 Pro |
| AIME 2025 | 88% ↗ | 87.5% ↗matharena ⚠ | +0.5 pt | Gemini 2.5 Pro |
| FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 0% ↗epoch | 12.2% ↗epoch | -12.2 pt | GPT-5 mini |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 24.6% ↗epoch | 46.7% ↗epoch | -22.1 pt | GPT-5 mini |
| OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run) | 84.7% ↗epoch | 86.7% ↗epoch | -2 pt | GPT-5 mini |
| SWE-bench Verified (Epoch AI run) | 57.6% ↗epoch | 64.7% ↗epoch | -7.1 pt | GPT-5 mini |
| Only Gemini 2.5 Pro reports · 5 | ||||
| Humanity's Last Exam (no tools) | 21.6% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| LMArena Elo | 1457.8 ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Aider Polyglot | 82.2% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| LiveCodeBench | 74.2% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| MMMU | 82% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Only GPT-5 mini reports · 1 | ||||
| SimpleQA Verified | not reported | 21.6% ↗epoch | — | — |
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is Gemini 2.5 Pro minus GPT-5 mini in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | Gemini 2.5 Pro | GPT-5 mini | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 1.0M tokens | 400K tokens | Gemini 2.5 Pro |
| Max output | 66K tokens | 128K tokens | GPT-5 mini |
| Input price / 1M | $1.25 ↗ | $0.25 ↗ | GPT-5 mini |
| Output price / 1M | $10 ↗ | $2 ↗ | GPT-5 mini |
| Cached input / 1M | $0.125 ↗ | $0.025 ↗ | GPT-5 mini |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | $11.25 | $2.25 | GPT-5 mini |
| Modalities | text · vision · audio | text · vision | Gemini 2.5 Pro |
| Released | 2025-06-17 | 2025-08-07 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 14 | 9 | — |
Reliability
Provider status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
Gemini 2.5 Pro vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
GPT-5 mini vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run Gemini 2.5 Pro and GPT-5 mini on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.