Compare / head-to-head

GPT-4.1vso3

o3 leads 12 of 12 shared benchmarks. Both list the same combined token price. GPT-4.1 has the larger context window (1.0M tokens).

Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.

Shared benchmarks
0 – 12
o3 leads
Cheaper per token
Tie
list price, input + output
Larger context
GPT-4.1
1.0M tokens
Providers
OpenAI
same provider
GPT-4.1
OpenAI · released 2025-04-14
textvision
Context
1.0M
Max out
33K
Input /1M
$2 ↗
Output /1M
$8 ↗
Cached /1M
$0.5
Scores
21 · 10 core
o3
OpenAI · released 2025-04-16
textvision
Context
200K
Max out
100K
Input /1M
$2 ↗
Output /1M
$8 ↗
Cached /1M
$0.5
Scores
22 · 9 core
Quality

Benchmark matrix

BenchmarkGPT-4.1o3ΔEdge
Reported by both · 12
SWE-bench Verified54.6% ↗69.1% ↗-14.5 pto3
GPQA Diamond66.3% ↗81.8% ↗epoch run-15.5 pto3
LMArena Elo1414.8 ↗1431.6 ↗-16.8o3
Chess Puzzles (Epoch AI run)6% ↗epoch run38% ↗epoch run-32 pto3
FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run)6% ↗epoch run33.3% ↗epoch run-27.3 pto3
LMArena Vision (LMArena)1214 ↗1215.7 ↗-1.7o3
MATH Level 5 (Epoch AI run)83% ↗epoch run97.8% ↗epoch run-14.8 pto3
OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run)38.3% ↗epoch run84.4% ↗epoch run-46.1 pto3
SimpleBench (SimpleBench)27% ↗53.1% ↗-26.1 pto3
SimpleQA Verified31.1% ↗epoch run49.4% ↗epoch run-18.3 pto3
SWE-bench Verified (Epoch AI run)48.5% ↗epoch run62.3% ↗epoch run-13.8 pto3
WeirdML (Håvard Tveit Ihle)39% ↗52.4% ↗-13.4 pto3
Only GPT-4.1 reports · 3
MMLU90.2% ↗not reported——
AIME 202448.1% ↗not reported——
Video-MME (long, no subtitles)72% ↗not reported——
Only o3 reports · 5
AIME 2025not reported89.2% ↗matharena ⚠——
GSO Opt@1 (GSO)not reported3.9% ↗——
Mystery Game Puzzles (Epoch AI run)not reported29% ↗epoch run——
OSWorld-Verified (XLANG)not reported23% ↗——
SAGE (Vals AI)not reported41.8% ↗——
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is GPT-4.1 minus o3 in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing

Side by side

SpecGPT-4.1o3Edge
Context window1.0M tokens200K tokensGPT-4.1
Max output33K tokens100K tokenso3
Input price / 1M$2 ↗$2 ↗Tie
Output price / 1M$8 ↗$8 ↗Tie
Cached input / 1M$0.5 ↗$0.5 ↗Tie
Input + output / 1M
Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded.
$10$10Tie
Modalitiestext · visiontext · visionTie
Released2025-04-142025-04-16—
Cited benchmark scores2122—
Reliability

OpenAI status

All providers →
More matchups

GPT-4.1 vs …

Built by Respan
Which one wins on your data?

Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run GPT-4.1 and o3 on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.