Compare / head-to-head

Claude Opus 5.5vsGPT-5.4 Pro

Claude Opus 5.5 leads 1 of 1 shared benchmark. Claude Opus 5.5 is 8.8x cheaper per token. GPT-5.4 Pro has the larger context window (1.1M tokens).

Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.

Shared benchmarks
1 – 0
Claude Opus 5.5 leads
Cheaper per token
Claude Opus 5.5
8.8x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
GPT-5.4 Pro
1.1M tokens
Providers
2 providers
Anthropic · OpenAI
Claude Opus 5.5
Anthropic · released 2026-09-22
textvision
Context
1M
Max out
128K
Input /1M
$4
Output /1M
$20
Cached /1M
$0.2
Scores
9 · 1 core
GPT-5.4 Pro
OpenAI · released 2026-03-05
textvision
Context
1.1M
Max out
128K
Input /1M
$30
Output /1M
$180
Cached /1M
Scores
13 · 8 core
Quality

Benchmark matrix

BenchmarkClaude Opus 5.5GPT-5.4 ProΔEdge
Reported by both · 1
Humanity's Last Exam (with tools)67.7% 58.7% +9 ptClaude Opus 5.5
Only Claude Opus 5.5 reports · 8
AutomationBench 1.0.640% not reported
Chartography (with tools)89% not reported
CursorBench 4.057.8% not reported
FrontierCode v1.1 (Main)54.4% not reported
GDPval-AA v2.11846 not reported
OSWorld 2.0 (partial)81.8% not reported
Terminal-Bench 4.066.4% not reported
Terminal-Bench Science 0.158.7% not reported
Only GPT-5.4 Pro reports · 11
GPQA Diamondnot reported94.4%
Humanity's Last Exam (no tools)not reported42.7%
ARC-AGI-1 (Verified)not reported94.5%
ARC-AGI-2 (Verified)not reported83.3%
BrowseCompnot reported89.3%
FrontierMath Tier 1-3not reported50%
FrontierMath Tier 4not reported38%
FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run)not reported58.5% epoch
FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run)not reported82.5% epoch
GDPval (wins or ties)not reported82%
SimpleQA Verifiednot reported46.3% epoch
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is Claude Opus 5.5 minus GPT-5.4 Pro in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing

Side by side

SpecClaude Opus 5.5GPT-5.4 ProEdge
Context window1M tokens1.1M tokensGPT-5.4 Pro
Max output128K tokens128K tokensTie
Input price / 1M$4 $30 Claude Opus 5.5
Output price / 1M$20 $180 Claude Opus 5.5
Cached input / 1M$0.2
Input + output / 1M
Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded.
$24$210Claude Opus 5.5
Modalitiestext · visiontext · visionTie
Released2026-09-222026-03-05
Cited benchmark scores913
Reliability

Provider status

All providers →
More matchups

Claude Opus 5.5 vs …

More matchups

GPT-5.4 Pro vs …

Built by Respan
Which one wins on your data?

Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run Claude Opus 5.5 and GPT-5.4 Pro on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.