ModelsCompareBest forBenchmarksStatusPricingAPI
Compare / head-to-head

GPT-5.5vsGrok 4.20 Reasoning

GPT-5.5 leads 4 of 5 shared benchmarks. Grok 4.20 Reasoning is 9.3x cheaper per token. Both offer a 1M-token context window.

Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.

Shared benchmarks
4 – 1
GPT-5.5 leads
Cheaper per token
Grok 4.20 Reasoning
9.3x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
Tie
both 1M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
95.4802% · —
OpenAI · xAI
GPT-5.5
OpenAI · released 2026-04-23
textvision
Context
1M
Max out
128K
Input /1M
$5
Output /1M
$30
Cached /1M
$0.5
Scores
21 · 10 core
Grok 4.20 Reasoning
xAI · released 2026-03-09
textvision
Context
1M
Max out
Input /1M
$1.25
Output /1M
$2.5
Cached /1M
$0.2
Scores
5 · 5 core
Quality

Benchmark matrix

BenchmarkGPT-5.5Grok 4.20 ReasoningΔEdge
Reported by both · 5
GPQA Diamond90.7% epoch89.3% epoch+1.4 ptGPT-5.5
FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run)72.5% epoch17.1% epoch+55.4 ptGPT-5.5
FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run)85.3% epoch44.9% epoch+40.4 ptGPT-5.5
OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run)84.4% epoch92.2% epoch-7.8 ptGrok 4.20 Reasoning
SimpleQA Verified63% epoch30.2% epoch+32.8 ptGPT-5.5
Only GPT-5.5 reports · 16
AIME 2026100% matharenanot reported
LMArena Elo1465.6 not reported
ARC-AGI-1 (Verified)95% not reported
ARC-AGI-2 (Verified)85% not reported
BrowseComp84.4% not reported
FrontierMath Tier 1-351.7% not reported
FrontierMath Tier 435.4% not reported
GDPval (wins or ties)84.9% not reported
MCP Atlas75.3% not reported
MMMU-Pro (no tools)81.2% not reported
MMMU-Pro (with tools)83.2% not reported
OSWorld-Verified78.7% not reported
SWE-Bench Pro58.6% not reported
Tau2-bench Telecom98% not reported
Terminal-Bench 2.082.7% not reported
Toolathlon55.6% not reported
Only Grok 4.20 Reasoning reports · 0
Grok 4.20 Reasoning reports nothing GPT-5.5 does not.
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is GPT-5.5 minus Grok 4.20 Reasoning in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing

Side by side

SpecGPT-5.5Grok 4.20 ReasoningEdge
Context window1M tokens1M tokensTie
Max output128K tokens
Input price / 1M$5 $1.25 Grok 4.20 Reasoning
Output price / 1M$30 $2.5 Grok 4.20 Reasoning
Cached input / 1M$0.5 $0.2 Grok 4.20 Reasoning
Input + output / 1M
Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded.
$35$3.75Grok 4.20 Reasoning
Modalitiestext · visiontext · visionTie
Released2026-04-232026-03-09
Cited benchmark scores215
Reliability

Provider status

All providers
More matchups

Grok 4.20 Reasoning vs …

Built by Respan
Which one wins on your data?

Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run GPT-5.5 and Grok 4.20 Reasoning on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.